African Pot

For The love of culture

life time stories

My name is  Akuma

I was born in Kenya in 1953. I was seven years old when my parents were killed by certain people who were staying in the same village. I was then taken by my uncle, Johannes, to stay with him until I was 16 years old. When my uncle died, I was left alone. It was so painful for me during  that time. I had no one else to take care of me. Until one of the village girls came to me and she said: “I can see that you are struggling with food and clothes. If you don’t mind, I can help you. We need to go to South Africa to make money so that we can have a good life.” Then I said to her: “I don’t have a passport.” She said: “No problem, I will make a plan.”

It was on Friday 20:30 p.m…

View original post 556 more words

Leave a Reply

